The Treasures You Find in Earthglow are a Blessing to Many

One of my very favorite Christmas songs is a little-known number. It was a part of the Wiley Post Blue Angel’s Christmas program each year when my children were elementary school age. Our own Kathlyn Reynolds would direct the children in a beautiful rendition of these poignant words:

Christmas is a feeling filling the air.
It’s love and joy and laughter of people everywhere.
Christmas is a feeling bringing such good cheer.
It reaches out to touch you as the holiday draws near.
It’s mistletoe and falling snow and candles burning bright.
It’s a baby in a manger on a cold winter’s night.
It’s glad Noels and chiming bells and presents by the tree.
It’s the spirit of giving in you and in me.
Yes, Christmas is a feeling filling the air.
It’s love and joy and laughter, and people everywhere.
But if Christmas is a feeling bringing such good cheer,
Then why, oh why, can’t you and I
Try to make it last all year?

I loved the message then, and I still feel the power of the message today. And, as a member of the Earthglow Shop’s Board of Directors, I have come to believe that by doing
much of my Christmas shopping in Earthglow, I can share “love and joy and laughter” with my family and friends on Christmas morning. But even more important, that love and joy and laughter actually does last all year. Every dollar of profit from your purchases in Earthglow is turned into blessings for local missions such as Neighborhood Services
Organization, Skyline Urban Ministries, Exodus House, Redemption Church, and Circle of Care. The love we share with them brightens the lives of so many in our community.

There are still many Christmas treasures available in Earthglow. Stop by and shop today!

Merry Christmas!
Vicki Gilstrap


The Remembrance Tree

If you have recently lost a loved one, we know you are painfully aware that the holidays won’t be the same as years before. We all handle this kind of loss in different ways. Some old traditions may need to fall by the wayside, and new traditions emerge to provide healing for a joyful and meaningful holiday.

You and your family can remember and honor your loved ones this Christmas by inscribing their name on a beautiful blue ornament and hanging it on the white Remembrance tree that is located at the window near Earthglow in the Main Concourse. Perhaps you might want to do that after a church service, or you and your family might decide to do that with a special visit to the church. What a meaningful way to honor your dear one this Christmas season.


Cards for Kenya: Sign A Card of Care on Sundays, January 6 or 13

In early February, the 2019 Kenya mission team will go to represent Christ and Church of the Servant on pilgrimage to Maua Methodist Hospital in Maua, Kenya. This team of 14 led by Ann Knutson and Jaci Finch will be focused on work in the hospital, ministry with local people, and the programs that the hospital leads in the community. One of the ways we go with the team as a congregation is by signing cards that are handed out to people in the hospital. These cards let them know that someone on the other side of the world is praying for them and is a partner in the ministry of the hospital. Come by the Kenya Table in early January to send your words and prayer with our team.


Christmas is Almost Here!


A WALK THROUGH BETHLEHEM

I cannot believe 2018 has less than a few weeks remaining; the past eleven and a half months have flown by! Yet,
before the year is complete, Church of the Servant still has Walk Through Bethlehem (December 14, 15 & 16) and Christmas Eve (December 24) to enjoy and celebrate. A great deal of work has gone into making this year’s walk
a reality, and I cannot wait to see everyone come and experience something new on our campus. Walk Through Bethlehem will be a wonderful way to invite friends and family to enjoy an evening at Church of the Servant.

CHRISTMAS EVE SERVICES

I am also excited about Christmas Eve. Three services are planned on Monday, December 24. The 3:00 p.m. Kid & Family Service has been developed for our younger members and friends. A shorter service and earlier in the day, this service will give an age-appropriate option for families with younger children who go to bed earlier and have a harder time sitting through a more traditional service. The 6:00 & 8:00 p.m. services will be Candlelight & Holy Communion services, and both services will be the same format.

BEGINNING THE NEW YEAR . . .

On Sunday, January 7, COS will begin a new worship series, titled: “How Will You Measure Your Life?” I recently discovered a book by the same title, written by Harvard Business School professors Clayton M. Christensen, James Allworth and Karen Dillon. In the book, these professors and scholars dive into those important questions many of us ponder. While reading the book, I wondered how this simple question could help each of us ask meaningful questions and grow in our personal lives, in our walk with God, and with each other.

Here is a quick description of the book from iTunes preview: From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s “The Innovator’s Dilemma”, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s “The Last Lecture” and Anna Quindlen’s “A Short Guide to a Happy Life”, Christensen’s “How Will You Measure Your Life” is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader — student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child — forge their own paths to fulfillment.

I hope you will find this book is a great starting point for the New Year. It brings up questions that will lead each of us into a deeper walk with the Lord, such as: How do we discover fulfillment in the Lord Almighty?

Looking forward to the Christmas Season and 2019 with each of you!


Just a Quiet Tuesday

It started out quietly. I walked to the Courtyard and began to set up what our group was going to assemble. Then Don Cole came by and sat down saying that he was waiting for a pizza delivery. We continued to work. Then about 20 men with red noses, some in work overalls, some in hard hats came trouping into the courtyard. They looked very cold! The pizza came, Julia Maisch brought tea and lemonade and the guys dug in. Turns out they are the Buck and a Bible “Boys” who were Building Bethlehem! (Can you tell I like alliteration)? Matthew also came in wearing his Georgia red shirt…a fan to the end. He, too, had been swinging a hammer in the mid-20 temps. He invited the OGE workmen who were working adjacent to Bethlehem to put up the Christmas tree lights. They were easily recognized as professionals because they had on their hard hats and Carhartt overalls, but they were just as cold!

The men began to eat and then a group of women joined in. They are the Tuesday mahjong group who play in 13.2 coffee shop. Our group who was assembling valentine candy to take to Kenya in February also shared in the Hideaway Pizza. There was plenty to go around and there was also a great feeling of community

Are we a place of worship? Of course, but we are servants all week long. And joyful ones at that! Why don’t you come up during the week and see what fun you can find?

Ann Knutson


Christmas Grace: 1 Day After

          Searching for a Misplaced Bag

Have you ever wondered what happens the day AFTER all the gifts are brought to church? How they get to the correct people and families? With over 20 years (TWENTY YEARS!) of experience Susy Wilson has every contingency planned for! She’s got labels and stickers and letter codes to ensure that every gift is double, triple checked and makes it way to the correct organization and correct recipient.

Sunday after the gifts are turned in, the large groups, P is for Putnam City Schools, S is for Skyline, are lined up in numerical order in the chapel and brides’ room. Smaller groups go around the perimeter of the room. Sunday evening, Suzy calls the few people who didn’t turn in a gift. Yes, she knows exactly who took what family! It’s always a simple problem which is quickly resolved. Monday morning, she and a group of volunteers check everything again. The bikes are marked as a “B” on the list and bags are marked with a hash mark. It all MUST match perfectly before the agency comes to pick their gifts up. (In the photo at left, Suzy, Janice and Amber look for a bag that was shown as checked in but somehow disappeared. The answer: two smaller bags were combined into one). Some agencies come on Monday morning and some on Tuesday. The gifts for each agency are lined up in numerical order (S1, S2, etc.) so they can be matched up once again before they go out the door. Suzy knows the names of all the directors as well as the delivery personnel. She knows who will be on time and who will run a little late.

It’s an amazing system which Susy has worked out over the years. It’s one that can be efficiently passed down to the next person when the time comes. Just follow Suzy’s method and over 100 families will receive the gifts which they requested. In addition, our congregation once again knows the true meaning of Christmas!