Charge Conference

Saturday, November 11

at New Covenant UMC, Edmond

9:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Each year, United Methodist Churches have a very important meeting called Charge Conference. Today, these meetings are conducted with other churches from the Crossroads District and are used to train up leaders, build community, celebrate ministry, and conduct required business. Each year during this meeting, all appointed clergy salaries are voted upon and the leadership slate for the New Year is officially approved and recognized.

This year, we will have ONE district-wide Charge Conference Connection for all churches. It will take place at New Covenant UMC in Edmond on Saturday, November 11 from 9:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.. Our District Superintendent, Rev. Rockford Johnson, has planned for a vital and valuable learning event. The focus is exploring how church leadership can discern and be engaged with God’s barrier-jumping “innovation”— both incremental and disruptive innovation. Mark DeYmaz will be our keynote speaker and conversation leader on the topic of innovation. Mark wrote the book, Disruption: Repurposing the Church to Redeem the Community, and is founding pastor of Mosaic Church in Little Rock ( You can also find him at Mosaix Global Network (

The Agenda for the Conference:

• 9:30 a.m. – Gathering, registration, coffee

• 10:00 a.m.   – Opening

• 10:15 a.m. – District Outcomes & Strategies briefly communicated

• 10:30 a.m. – Innovation—by Mark DeYmaz

• 11:30 a.m. – Innovation at The Village UMC: Co-Pastors Carlos Ramirez, Elaine Robinson, Jay Williams

• 12:00 p.m.  – Lunch

• 12:45 p.m.  – INNOVATION Q & A: with DeYmaz, Ramirez, Williams, Robinson, and others

• 1:30 p.m. – Charge Conference Voting

• 1:45 p.m. – Wrap up and Dismissal

Charge Conference is open to all members of the church and members of the Charge Conference Leadership Team are able to vote on specific matters related to Church of the Servant. The Charge Conference Leadership Team members representing Church of the Servant are:

Kelly McDonough

Terri Cooper

Clay Cockrill

Craig Robinson

Sherri Price

Jordan Page

Bobbie Roe

Russell Lawson, Ad Council Chair

Martha Stone

Bob Marshall

Blair Schoeb, PPRC Chair

Monica Wittrock, Finance Chair

Amber Neaves, Mission Council Chair

Russ Sullins, Trustee Chair

Matthew Mitchell, Senior Minister

Randy Shrauner, Executive Minister

Steve Johns, Controller


If you would like to attend this year’s Charge Conference, please register. Registration ends November 4 to ensure an accurate head count for lunch. Contact Becky Kittrell at to RSVP.