Christmas is Almost Here!


A WALK THROUGH BETHLEHEM

I cannot believe 2018 has less than a few weeks remaining; the past eleven and a half months have flown by! Yet,
before the year is complete, Church of the Servant still has Walk Through Bethlehem (December 14, 15 & 16) and Christmas Eve (December 24) to enjoy and celebrate. A great deal of work has gone into making this year’s walk
a reality, and I cannot wait to see everyone come and experience something new on our campus. Walk Through Bethlehem will be a wonderful way to invite friends and family to enjoy an evening at Church of the Servant.

CHRISTMAS EVE SERVICES

I am also excited about Christmas Eve. Three services are planned on Monday, December 24. The 3:00 p.m. Kid & Family Service has been developed for our younger members and friends. A shorter service and earlier in the day, this service will give an age-appropriate option for families with younger children who go to bed earlier and have a harder time sitting through a more traditional service. The 6:00 & 8:00 p.m. services will be Candlelight & Holy Communion services, and both services will be the same format.

BEGINNING THE NEW YEAR . . .

On Sunday, January 7, COS will begin a new worship series, titled: “How Will You Measure Your Life?” I recently discovered a book by the same title, written by Harvard Business School professors Clayton M. Christensen, James Allworth and Karen Dillon. In the book, these professors and scholars dive into those important questions many of us ponder. While reading the book, I wondered how this simple question could help each of us ask meaningful questions and grow in our personal lives, in our walk with God, and with each other.

Here is a quick description of the book from iTunes preview: From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s “The Innovator’s Dilemma”, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s “The Last Lecture” and Anna Quindlen’s “A Short Guide to a Happy Life”, Christensen’s “How Will You Measure Your Life” is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader — student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child — forge their own paths to fulfillment.

I hope you will find this book is a great starting point for the New Year. It brings up questions that will lead each of us into a deeper walk with the Lord, such as: How do we discover fulfillment in the Lord Almighty?

Looking forward to the Christmas Season and 2019 with each of you!